Preparing for IVF

• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

• Validating
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 17 September 2006 - 11:44 PM

Hello all,

This is my first post. I am 25, and dh is 43. We have been trying to conceive for 3 years now, and I would never have guessed that I would be preparing for IVF at such a young age. It has been a long and frustrating journey to get to this point. After a d&c hist to remove polyps and clear blocked tubes, my gyno said I should be pregnant wthin 3 months. Three months came and went, and still no bfp. We were referred to a reproductive endocrinologist at the IWK, and she started me on clomid right away. After completing 4 months of clomid therapy, I had enough. The side effects were unbearable, and we discovered that our infertility is linked to a sperm motility problem. So I will be starting IVF in November. I'm looking for some friendly support to get through this. I am a Registered Nurse, and I can't wait to be on the receiving end of labour and delivery ;-)

• Validating
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts

Posted 18 September 2006 - 06:24 PM

Hi amt

I too am preparing for IVF. I never thought that I would be going this route either... but here I am. I'm 36 on the edge of 37. When my partner and I made the decision I felt extremely overwhelmed but now I've calmed down considerably! It's great that you are a nurse... it must be a bit easier to sift through all of the info. I have really relied on my nurse friends to help me understand things and make decisions.

Coco

• Validating
  • Pip
  • 2 posts

Posted 18 September 2006 - 08:03 PM

Hi amt