• Please log in to reply
1 reply to this topic

#1 yellowrose

yellowrose
  • 11 posts
  • Dx:Male Factor
  • My Clinic:NL Fertility Services

Posted 10 January 2014 - 03:10 PM

My partner will need to have sperm extracted using the Micro Tese method followed by IVF in order for us to conceive. I'm wondering if there is anything he should or shouldn't be doing leading up to the micro tese procedure that could help us have stronger, healthier sperm. I'd appreciate any advice you may have. Thanks!

#2 BrandyRelaxing

BrandyRelaxing
  • Global 100+
  • 178 posts
  • Dx:Male Factor
  • My Clinic:Create

Posted 10 January 2014 - 05:50 PM

I'd talk to your doctor about what he/she would recommend, but generally there are vitamins he shoudl be taking - there are a couple different kinds.  I'm no expert on it, but I'm sure others can provide an opinion.

-stay away from BPAs - stop drinking bottled water, stop heating up food in plastic containers in the microwave

-exercise in moderation

-eat healthy - i.e. avoid sweeteners, chemicals, try to eat organic if possible

-stop smoking

-don't drink more than 2 alcoholic drinks per week

-reduce the temperature of the testicles - i.e. boxers, don't use the seat warmer in the car, don't put a laptop on his lap

-have sex often (my FS said that often frequent sex can improve sperm production)

While no one thing can make a big difference, together they can help.  If I was you, I'd google what to do, and see what it says.  Some things I might not think to write, but if your hubby is exposed to chemicals at work, that's something to be wary of as well.

Also, it depends on why he's having a mTESE - that can impact what is important to change as well.

Best of luck!

Brandy

Me: So far all normal, slightly high TSH (3.4) found in January 2014

DH: Azoospermia, likely testicular failure