• Please log in to reply
16 replies to this topic

#1 Nicky123

Nicky123
  • 86 posts
  • Dx:Male Factor

Posted 29 December 2019 - 05:30 AM

Hi all

We are starting our first ever ivf in January. We have mfi and are using donor sperm. We have a 12 month old dd who was conceived very quickly with unmedicated iui (cycle 2) and I have no known fertility issues. We are moving onto ivf in hopes of giving her a sibling (our donor is retired and we are down to the last 2 vials so decided to jump straight to ivf). We saw our RE last month and did the usual blood work etc and everything looks good. At the last minute he decided to add an AMH test (I didnt do this with dd). It took a bit for the results but I just checked and they are in and my number was 27.9. Is that ok? My RE office is closed till Wednesday so I thought Id see if anyone has any insight as Im a bit of a newbie to ivf. Im 36 almost 37 if that matters

#2 Cotton

Cotton
  • Global 100+
  • 361 posts

Posted 29 December 2019 - 08:11 AM

It didn't come with the ranges that allow you to interpret it? Can you try calling the lab or your clinic?

I was told mine was low for my age at 7 (I am one year younger than you). We ended up having a good result anyway because my relatively high AFC bailed us out.

I think you should have a good result because you have no known issues and the donor sperm bypasses the male factor issue.

As an aside, I had no idea how much sperm they need for these procedures. My husband had to get two testicular biopsies (ouch) to make sure the lab had enough for the estimated 12-15 eggs they thought they would get out of me. You would think 12-15 eggs would mean 12-15 sperm, which is practically nothing, right? Guess not.

#3 Nicky123

Nicky123
  • 86 posts

Posted 29 December 2019 - 10:02 AM

My clinic is closed but I’ll for sure ask them when they open. The range was useless and not dine by age and almost everything online is in American units.

#4 Nicky123

Nicky123
  • 86 posts