• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 Vivvvi

Vivvvi
  • 11 posts
  • Dx:Other

Posted 19 September 2019 - 03:20 PM

Hello,

I just turned 41. I will be using donor sperm to TTC. I recently had all my baseline tests done and the following are my results:

- AFC: 19

- FSH: 9

- AMH: 1.60

- All other hormones/parameters are normal.

I have never tried to conceived before. I have a very regular 28-day cycle. No PCOS. No endometriosis. No cysts. According to my doctor, all my results are those of a younger woman, which is great. The problem is that my ovaries (and eggs) are NOT young, they are 41 years old!!

My doctor offered to try a couple of IUIs or the short IVF protocol. I am very confused with the decision. I am reading and hearing that at my age, 70-80% of the eggs are chromosomally abnormal. Does it make sense to to IUI?? Should I just go straight to IVF (with PGD to exclude choromosomally abnormal embryos)?  

I am afraid that with IUI, I will be wasting time, as the rate of success is lower (fertilization, miscarriage, chromosomally abnormal fetus). 

If you can provide your medical opinion on this, I would be so appreciative!

PS: I have been taking multivitamins and CoQ10 (600mg) for 8 months now.

Thank you,

Vivi

#2 DorothyandToto

DorothyandToto
  • Global 100+
  • 133 posts
  • Interests:My furry children, movies, Pilates, travel, cooking
  • Dx:Tubal

Posted 19 September 2019 - 08:57 PM

Vivi,

I am not a doctor, so this is not a medical opinion...just what was told to me and what I have experienced. I too have the “hormones of a younger woman”even though I’m 42. My AFC is 20, my FSH is 4.9 and my AMH is 14.2.