Very poor morphology and healthy newborns? - IVF/FET/IUI Cycle Buddies - IVF.ca Forums

Photo
- - - - -

Very poor morphology and healthy newborns?

morphology male factor newborn outcome ICSI IVF

• Please log in to reply
7 replies to this topic

#1 Pinkgirl

Pinkgirl
  • Just Hatched
  • 3 posts
  • Dx:Male Factor

Posted 20 July 2019 - 09:56 PM

Hello, I am very new to this and at the moment trying to decide whether it is worth me going through the IVF process as I am worried about newborn defects more than anything. 

My husband has very low count (4 million) and undetectable morphology (less than 2%) and I have been reading many papers stating that the chromosomal makeup in his sperm is abnormal due to the morphology which then could lead to newborn defects. The only other person that has been in this situation has indeed had one genetically abnormal child and one perfectly healthy. I just wanted to see if I could find more success stories with healthy babies! 

Appreciate your time. 

#2 Graceland

Graceland
  • Global 100+
  • 598 posts
  • Dx:Other
  • My Clinic:Hannam (now)

Posted 21 July 2019 - 06:55 AM

The good news is that there are ways to maximize your chances of having a genetically normal child.

The physical morphology of a sperm (whether deemed normal or abnormal) doesnt necessarily mean the sperms DNA is healthy or not. I would encourage you to speak with your fertility doctor for a more comprehensive overview of this topic, but in a nutshell, you can pursue IVF with genetic testing on your embryos prior to transferring them to ensure you are transferring genetically normal embryos.

But, I just wanted to emphasize that low morphology doesnt mean youll have an unhealthy baby. In fact, normal morphology in sperm is deemed to be between 4-14%.

I think you have every reason to feel optimistic. Best of luck to you.

Twin girls born December 2017 after 7 years of TTC

See 'About Me' for full details

#3 hopefuldadsomeday

hopefuldadsomeday