Male Side Known Egg Donor - First Cousin Once Removed - Ask the RE - IVF.ca Forums

Photo
- - - - -

Male Side Known Egg Donor - First Cousin Once Removed

Egg Donor Cousin

• Please log in to reply
4 replies to this topic

#1 sceptre4444

sceptre4444
  • 8 posts
  • Dx:N/A
  • My Clinic:Regional Fertility Program Calgary

Posted 05 May 2018 - 05:00 PM

Hello, Can the husband's first cousin, once removed (daughter of his 1st cousin) be considered as an egg donor candidate if all the other requirements are met?   

#2 Seem14

Seem14
  • Global 100+
  • 194 posts
  • Dx:Tubal
  • My Clinic:Olive Fertility Clinic

Posted 05 May 2018 - 06:42 PM

hmmm... seems a little too close of a generation to me... but I'm no expert when it comes to this.  One of my best friends though, his parents are cousins five times removed smile.png  

#3 DrMichaelHartman

DrMichaelHartman
  • Physician
  • 325 posts
  • My Clinic:Trio Fertility

Posted 18 May 2018 - 01:25 PM

Best to speak to your clinic directly as they likely will be able to tell if it is acceptable for them.

Theoretical concerns are risks of having a higher chance of certain familial genetic diseases, but everyone has a different comfort level with how closely related is too close.

• mouse and gibasgirl like this

#4 sceptre4444

sceptre4444
  • 8 posts
  • My Clinic:Regional Fertility Program Calgary

Posted 18 May 2018 - 05:31 PM

I think I'll answer my own question here. 

I appreciate the input from Experts. However, directing me back to my own clinic or another expert isn't input at all, merely deflecting the question. And, really it goes without saying, it is an internet forum after all.

My results were from 2 genetic counselors who consulted genetic doctors. From 2 different clinics.