Hyperstimulation/IUI cancelled due to high-order multiple & health risk - IVF/FET/IUI Cycle Buddies - IVF.ca Forums

Photo
- - - - -

Hyperstimulation/IUI cancelled due to high-order multiple & health risk

clomid hypserstimulation iui ohss

• Please log in to reply
6 replies to this topic

#1 Treker313

Treker313
  • 5 posts
  • Dx:Unexplained

Posted 26 September 2017 - 05:27 PM

Hello,

First off, I'm a newbie to the board. I hope I do this posting thing properly. Please forgive me for my newbie-ness.

I'm posting because I'm pretty shaken up and I've found very little information online about my most 1st experience on my clomid/IUI journey. 

Overview:

37yo, unexplained infertility (ttc for 2 years)

current action plan: 1st round of clomid/iui 

dose: 50mg/daily days 3-7.

I had blood monitored for ovulation Day 8-13. Due to high levels of estrogen and lack of ovulation, an ultrasound was completed yesterday and 10 mature follicles ranging from 22-30mm in size each were located. IUI cancelled for this month due to high-order multiple risk and health risk. I'm told this is an extremely rare reaction to clomid and I would no longer be eligible for this medication (the dr. at the fertility clinic explained she has only encountered this extreme of a reaction on a low dose of clomid 1 other time in 25years of practice).

Due to the size and amount of mature follicles, the dr. is concerned about damage to my ovaries (torsion) and has recommended I be on light duties for the rest of my cycle (including no exercising...which is pretty much how I keep sane). The dr. also seemed so surprised, that no action plan was recommended any further other than it's a waiting game to see how my body recovers from this.