#1 KimT0821

KimT0821
  • Just Hatched
  • 1 posts
  • Dx:Male Factor

Posted 07 July 2017 - 03:05 PM

Hi!! This is my first time writing on here so I want to
Say hi.

My husband was diagnosed with 100% globozoospermia (round headed sperm). My RE was super positive that all would be okay with IVF with ICSI ooygote accitvated with calcium ionophore. I had my egg retrieval this past Tuesday (July 4) and received a phone call the next night. None of my 6 mature eggs fertilized. My doctor was beyond shocked as was everyone in the lab that not one fertilized. My doctor and nurse is adamant that this is not an egg quality issue. My doctor is also weary about doing another cycle that I insist on.

My question is have anyone have fertilization failure with ICSI and AOA

#2 Bre

Bre
  • Global 100+
  • 273 posts
  • Dx:Endometriosis

Posted 08 July 2017 - 04:14 PM

KimT0821 - I am really sorry about the news, i hope you are doing ok! We had the same thing happen to us in March, which was also our first IVF! I had 9 follicles, they retrieved 7 eggs and out of those 7, nothing fertilized. In our situation, we were told it was due to poor egg quality, We were devastated! Our doctor was also surprised but unfortunately it is more common than what i thought. There are a few other ladies on this site that also had zero fertilization! Our situation is a little different than yours, as we are not dealing with globozoospermia !

What is your next step? Hang in there!!

35, Endometriosis, TTC 5 years

#3 Graceland

Graceland
  • Global 100+
  • 598 posts
  • Dx:Other
  • My Clinic:Hannam (now)

Posted 09 July 2017 - 05:59 AM

I'm really sorry this happened to you. :(