2 replies to this topic

#1 MomtotheBean

MomtotheBean
  • Just Hatched
  • 2 posts
  • Dx:N/A
  • My Clinic:LHSC

Posted 18 February 2017 - 10:14 PM

So apparently--if I'm understanding correctly--LHSC does NOT do the PGS/PGD screening onsite; instead you have to go to Mt. Sinai. I guess that would mean that the ER, testing/PGS, fertilization, and transfer would all be done by them? It makes sense to me that they would handle all the egg stuff as opposed to us just doing the testing there and then them sending the eggs back to LHSC if there isn't a genetic abnormality (?) I know that they've done this before but I'm just concerned about things getting held up or LHSC thinking that Mt. Sinai is doing one thing but Mt. Sinai thinks that LHSC is doing it, etc.

I've had three miscarriages in ten months so at this point we know it's not a gyno problem. Dr. HC thinks that it's more than likely a chromosomal issue. I'm brand new to IVF.  I'd be shocked if my husband was the problem as I've been told that his sperm tests showed "super sperm". I can get pregnant quickly--after my first and second miscarriage I was pregnant again by my second cycle after miscarrying while taking the drugs for IUI--it's just that the baby either doesn't show up and it's just the gestational sac, or it doesn't stick past week 8. 

Does anyone have any experience going through this and feedback on how the coordination between the two clinics worked? I quality for funding but I think by the time that we'd get to the top of the list, I'd be 35 and my egg supply wasn't great to begin with so at 32, my clock is already quickly winding down. We're just going to bite the bullet and pay out of pocket but I know that getting PGS raises the cost quite a bit.

Me: 32

DH: 33

January 2008: Diagnosed as having moderate endometriosis

February 2008: First lap

December 2008: Second lap (LUNA)