Photo
- - - - -

How do you tell friends what NOT to say?

• Please log in to reply
10 replies to this topic

#1 Clover83

Clover83
  • 5 posts
  • Dx:Unexplained

Posted 25 June 2016 - 11:26 PM

Hello, this is my first time posting on a fertility forum. I'm generally feeling terribly heartbroken, sad and alone these days and I think it's time I sought out support, even if online. All my of best friends and closest family happen to be pregnant right now, and they never really know what to say to me. I don't have anyone if my life that has struggled with infertility. How can I improve how I'm coping? How can I acquire support from the real people in my life, even if they are all at a different stage than me?

#2 nervus optimist

nervus optimist
  • Super Moderator
  • 2,525 posts
  • Dx:Genetic
  • My Clinic:newlife

Posted 25 June 2016 - 11:32 PM

Welcome.... I'm sorry that you have reason to be here but I'm glad that you've found us. Please know that you are not alone. I think that is one of the most difficult things about IF, is that people don't often talk about it, so in the 'real world' we can feel very alone. For me, I found that with people who didn't get it I didn't try to explain it to them. I created distance when I needed it and didn't when I didn't. When I needed genuine support from people who truly got it - I came here.

Not sure if that helps, but that's what worked for me.

:flowers:

• gibasgirl and CdnHockeyGal like this

I am 37, DH - 38
Genetic - IVF&PGD to prevent Genetic Disorder
IVF #1 - Nov/08 - MC @ 6 weeks, no embryos frozen
IVF #2 - Aug/09 - bfn
IUI #1 - Feb/10 - ectopic
PRIDE - Apr/10
Homestudy - July/10
Given the gift of donor embryos - Jan/12
Donor FET Jun/12 - 9 weeks - no heartbeat... MC
Donor FET Oct/12 - we're PG biggrin.png

===> Beautiful baby boy born 2013 babyboy.gif

Donor FET Oct/16 - chemical

#3 CdnHockeyGal

CdnHockeyGal
  • Super Moderator
  • 6,197 posts
  • Interests:Hockey, baseball, travel & starting a family