Number of Follicles during stimulation

• Please log in to reply
9 replies to this topic

• Validating
  • Pip
  • 14 posts

Posted 05 July 2006 - 01:33 PM

Hi,

I am new to this and am on day 8 of IVF meds stimulation - first cycle. I am going to be 42 later this year and have had my kids without IVF - however, I have experienced significant pregnancy loss duirng the efforts to have children - We would love to have one more child - Due to age and my recurrent miscarriage, ectopic history, we're doing IVF and PGD. Here is my question:

I am so confused as to what are good numbers for follicle development for me. On day 6 I had 10 follicles - 2 or 3 were a good size and the others were smaller. yesterday, I have a total of 13 follciles - 6 - 16 mm. Met with the doctor and he told me these are ok but "not great" numbers. Of course, I hear about the women who produce 30 eggs, etc. I also hear about those who are closer to my numbers and they seem to think they are good numbers. I think we are intending (subjectr to the sonogram and blood test results) to do the HCG trigger so that retrieval is either 4 or 5 days from now.

Can anyone share with me their personal experiences? Number of follicles developed during stimulatin (and size range), number of eggs that resulted? Where they were with follicles at day 8 of stimulation and the end result?

Thanks in advance! I appreciate it!

#2 Hopeful

Hopeful
  • 260 posts
  • Dx:Male Factor

Posted 05 July 2006 - 02:42 PM

Hi New Ivfer,
Welcome! :wavey: