• Please log in to reply
2 replies to this topic

#1 jspeck1

jspeck1
  • Just Hatched
  • 1 posts
  • Dx:N/A

Posted 10 April 2013 - 10:51 PM

Hello all. My name is Jenni and I am a student at Arizona State University. I am currently writing a paper on Pre-implantation Genetic Diagnosis. If you have undergone PGD and had an interesting/successful/any kind of experience, and you would not mind sharing that experience with me in an interview, please message back. It is much appreciated! 

Thank you!

Jenni 

#2 nervus optmist

nervus optmist
  • Global Moderators
  • 2,055 posts
  • Dx:Genetic
  • My Clinic:newlife

Posted 11 April 2013 - 06:51 AM

hi Jenni,

In this section of the forums there are a number of threads related to people's experiences regarding PGD.  You'll find that some chose PGD to prevent a single gene disorder, and some to prevent balanced/unbalanced translocations.  Others did PGS to look for chromosomal abnormalities in general.  Many have been successful.  Personally I wasn't, primarily because I do not produce enough eggs when undergoing stimulation and research does show that the number of eggs produced is the single greatest factor in determining success with PGD (greater than age, fertility etc etc).  I'm happy to answer questions.  I do my best to be a strong advocate for awareness of PGD - many couples who are affected by single gene disorders do not know that it is an option, or are informed of it as an option but are discouraged from doing it because of costs.  I think building awareness is key to empower couples to make their own choices.

:flowers:

I am 33, DH - 35
Genetic - IVF&PGD to prevent Genetic Disorder
IVF #1 - Nov/08 - MC @ 6 weeks, no embryos frozen
IVF #2 - Aug/09 - bfn
IUI #1 - Feb/10 - ectopic
PRIDE - Apr/10
Homestudy - July/10
Given the gift of donor embryos - Jan/12
Donor FET Jun/12 - 9 weeks - no heartbeat... MC
Donor FET Oct/12 - we're PG biggrin.png

===> Beautiful baby boy born June 2013 babyboy.gif

#3 ivf4pgd