2 replies to this topic

#1 d-ster

d-ster
  • 15 posts
  • Dx:Tubal
  • My Clinic:Markham Fertility Clinic

Posted 12 March 2012 - 12:23 AM

Hi Dr. Liu,

I'm very new to the world of fertility, so I know next to nothing about treatments, or the terminology, for that matter!

What I do know is that a pelvic and transvaginal ultrasound I had done about 2.5 years ago revelaed a hydrosalpinx in my left fallopian tube and a cyst on my right ovary. The only symptoms I have with these conditions is extremely irregular periods (thus, I do not know when I ovulate) and occasional pain with intercourse. I have a few questions that I hope you are willing to answer:

1. How does an ovarian cyst impact ovulation and fertilization?
2. How exactly are cysts treated?
3. I have read that a hydrosalpinx should be removed or clamped off before beginning any treatments, as it reduces the success rate of IVF. If the tube is clamped, does the hydrosalpinx just stay in place? Isn't there a risk of the hydosalpinx just sitting there (e.g possibly rupture), as they're usually caused by an infection? If the hydrosalpinx is removed, do the fallopian tube and ovary get entirely removed? Should this procedure be done prior to getting referred to a fertility clinic?

Thanks,
~D-ster
Me: 28
DH: 29

Left hydrosalpinx and Right ovarian cyst
Been TTC x 1.5 years
Awaiting initial consult at Markham Fertility Clinic

#2 LWill

LWill
  • 39 posts
  • Dx:DOR

Posted 12 March 2012 - 12:14 PM

I have also read that the hydrosalpinx could reduce you succes of IVF. There is a procedure called Essure that is less invasive than surgery to correct this problem.
8/2011 - Changed from IVF to IUI due to no mature eggs BFN
11/2011 - 1st IVF which was BFP
12/2011 - Terminate pregnancy due to being tubal
6/2012 - Cancelled IVF due to natural pregnancy
7/2012 - M/C
11/2012 - Changed from IVF to IUI due to 3 mature eggs BFN
12/2013 - Decided to go Donor route
1/14/13 - Hold Donor, had a natural pregnancy