Selective reduction?

• Please log in to reply
47 replies to this topic

#1 DeeJay

DeeJay

Optimist!

• 1000+
  • 1,163 posts
  • Interests:Gardening, outdoors, country living, my furbabies, my DH, anything but working!
  • Dx:Tubal
  • My Clinic:OFC

Posted 14 May 2010 - 01:02 PM

Does this ever happen? The option of putting back more than 2 embryos and selective reducing if you get more than 1 (or 2) implant?

A friend asked me this the other day, and I'm really new in the process of IVF to even know if this is done or not.
Deb & Chris
DH and I: 36-37
Married 2 years, together 8, trying the whole time!

DX: Tubal scarring from car accident @ 15yrs. One 100% blocked, 1 80% blocked. And due to age, low ovarian reserve.

DH's spermies are still swimmin away, no problems yay.
_ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _ _

First Cycle
Chemical pregnancy.

Second Cycle
Sucess! 2 Girls!! Avery & Sydney born June 12/11 at 30w1d.

See in the 'About Me' section on my profile for more details on protocols and timing.

#2 EarthWoman

EarthWoman
  • Cyclebase
  • 264 posts
  • Interests:Yoga, drumming, reading, theatre, singing, cats, languages, teaching
  • Dx:Male Factor
  • My Clinic:Genesis

Posted 14 May 2010 - 01:36 PM

We were told by our clinic that selective reduction of triplets or more is legal in Canada, but you cannot legally reduce twins to a singleton. I don't know whether this changes if the fetuses pose a serious health threat to the mother.

My DH and I are rather ill-equipped to deal with twins due to his disability so we chose to transfer only one embryo for exactly this reason. We will also be doing single FET even though the "norm" on a frozen cycle is two.

Whether anyone actually opts to do selective reduction once they are pregnant with triplets or more, I have no idea...

All the best!
Me: 35, DH: 41
"I'm opening up in sweet surrender to the luminous love light of the One"

#3 Rosa

Rosa
  • Global 100+
  • 765 posts